Supervisory Board and Committees

The Supervisory Board is responsible for supervising and advising the Executive Board and for overseeing the general direction of Refresco’s operations and strategy. The Supervisory Board is guided by the interests of Refresco taking into account the interests of its stakeholders and shall also have due regard for corporate social responsibility issues.

Remuneration and Nominating Committee:

This committee is responsible for advising the Supervisory Board on the remuneration of the Executive Board, reviewing the Executive Board’s proposals concerning the remuneration policies for the higher management within Refresco and advising on appointment procedures for and assessment of the functioning of Executive Board members and Supervisory Board members.

Audit Committee

This committee supervises the internal risk management and control systems and the provision of financial information by the company. It furthermore supervises the role and functioning of the internal auditor and the relations with the external auditor.

The Supervisory Board is guided by the company’s Articles of Association, the By-Laws of the Supervisory Board, the Supervisory Board profile and the Rotation Plan. In addition hereto, the Remuneration and Nominating Committee and the Audit Committee each have their own Terms of Reference.

Composition of the Supervisory Board
 (members marked with * are independent members within the meaning of the Dutch Corporate Governance Code)

  • Yiannis Petrides*

    Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Member of the Audit Committee

    yannisMr. Petrides (1958, male, a Cyprus national) has broad experience in the FMCG and soft drinks industries. Until 2014, Mr. Petrides also served as Vice Chairman of the board of directors of Campofrio Food Group. Mr. Petrides is additionally Chairman of the board of Largo (Wind Hellas Telecoms) and a member of the Board of Puig. Mr. Petrides worked for 23 years with Pepsico, the last 10 as President Europe for the Pepsi Bottling Group and retired in 2010. He obtained a Master’s degree in Economics and Political Science from Cambridge University in 1982 and a Master’s degree in Business Administration from Harvard University in 1984.

  • Aalt Dijkhuizen*

    Vice-chairman of the Supervisory Board, Chairman of the Remuneration and Nominating Committee


    Mr. Dijkhuizen (1953, male, a Dutch national) is president of the Dutch Topsector Agri & Food, chairman of the supervisory board of the Van Hessen Group, member of the supervisory board of Royal De Heus Animal Nutrition, member of the international advisory board of Hendrix Genetics, member of the advisory board of Struik Foods, member of the advisory board of the Pictet Agri Investment Fund, chairman of the Dutch Alliance for Sustainable Food, chairman of the supervisory board of the Arnhem Philharmonic Orchestra, co-director of the Holland Center in Shanghai, extraordinary member of the Dutch Safety Board, high-level expert to the European Commission and personal advisor to the Governor of Fujian Province in China. During the 1990s Mr. Dijkhuizen was a professor at Wageningen University, specialised in animal health economics. From 1998 to 2002 he worked for Nutreco as Managing Director of the Business Group Agri Northern Europe. From 2002 to 2014 he was president and ceo of Wageningen UR (University & Research center). Mr. Dijkhuizen holds a B.Sc and M.Sc degree in Agricultural Economics from Wageningen University (1977) and a PhD in Animal Health Economics at the Veterinary Faculty from Utrecht University (1983). Mr. Dijkhuizen was awarded Honorary Citizen of Fujian Province (China) in 2008 and Commander in the Order of Orange-Nassau in the Netherlands in 2014.

  • Sean Gorvy

    Member of the Supervisory Board, Member of the Remuneration and Nominating Committee


    Dr. Gorvy (1963, male, a South-African national) is chief executive of Hanover Acceptances Limited, an entity that owns 100% of Tamoa, and has been a member of the Hanover Acceptances Limited board since 1997. Furthermore, he holds directorships at Tamoa Limited, Dorrington PLC, Fresh Capital Group Limited and African Realty Trust (PTY) Limited. Until 2013, Dr. Gorvy also held directorships at food and beverage businesses Pride Foods Limited, Gerber Emig Group Limited and Frigo Pak Gida Maddeleri Sanayive Ticaret A.S. He was earlier a director of South African fresh produce marketing businesses, Outspan and Capespan and UK organic food retailer Fresh & Wild. Prior to working within the Hanover Acceptances Group, Dr. Gorvy spent five years with Morgan Stanley’s real estate, corporate finance, and M&A departments. He has a BA (Hons) degree from the University of Durham and a PhD in political economics from Cambridge University.

  • Theo De Kool*

    Member of the Supervisory Board, Chairman of the Audit Committee


    Mr. de Kool (1952, male, a Dutch national) was a member of the supervisory board of Van Gansewinkel Groep until 30 June 2015. He was the vice chairman of the executive board of Blokker Holding as of November 2013 until June 2015. Subsequently, he became the Chairman and CEO of Blokker Holding until 31 December 2015. He has also served as CFO/finance director of Blokker Holding and as a member of Blokker Holding’s supervisory board. Furthermore, Mr. de Kool was CFO of Sara Lee Corporation based in Chicago, member of the executive board and supervisory board of Sara Lee/DE and recently Mr. de Kool was a director and CFO and subsequently CEO of Univeg group in Belgium. Mr. de Kool received his M.Sc. in Economics from Erasmus University Rotterdam and finished studies at Nyenrode Business University.

  • Thomas Kunz*

    Member of the Supervisory Board

    Mr. Kunz (1957, male, Swiss) spent 32 years working at Procter & Gamble and Danone in various countries, including the US. His recent positions were CEO of Danone Waters and CEO of Danone Dairy. In these roles, he served on the Executive Board of Group Danone. Mr. Kunz holds a Lic.Oec.HSG from University of St. Gallen, St. Gallen, Switzerland.

  • Inge Plochaet*

    Member of the Supervisory Board

    Mrs. Plochaet (1968, female, a Belgian national) has over 25 years of experience in the FMCG business. She started her career as a Packaging Development Engineer with Procter & Gamble. The last 20 years she spent in various positions with ABInbev and her last role was Business Unit President UK & Ireland. Mrs. Plochaet is currently a Non-Executive Director at Van Genechten Packaging, a small family owned packaging solution business.

    She has a Master’s degree in Chemical Engineering from KU Leuven, De Nayer Institute in Belgium and a company MBA from University of Pennsylvania.


  • Jon Sigurdsson

    Member of the Supervisory Board, Member of the Remuneration and Nominating Committee


    Mr. Sigurdsson (1978, male, an Icelandic national) is a managing director of Helgafell ehf. and managing director of Helgafell eignarhaldsfelag ehf. He is on the board of N1 hf., which is listed on NASDAQ OMX Iceland, and Fjardalax hf. He also serves as chairman and managing director of Straumnes Ráðgjöf ehf., and chairman and managing director of Straumnes eignarhaldsfelag ehf. Previously, Mr. Sigurdsson was employed by Stoðir hf. from 2005 to 2010 (as managing director from 2007 to 2010) and prior to that worked for Landsbanki Íslands hf. And Búnaðarbanki Íslands hf. He received his B.Sc in Business Administration from Reykjavík University.